All posts · Book-related · Life · Poems · Rainy Day Posts

a rainy day, so here’s another rainy day post.

[make sure you’re reading this on my site!! It looks best there (:]

Hello people, elves, demigods, witches, wizards, crows, and all! Hope you’re doin’ well. 🌻
It’s been forever since my last rainy day post. Partly because, y’know, hiatus, and partly because OF THE LACK OF RAIN HERE. 😩

But *anyway.* If you don’t know what my rainy days posts are, they’re sort of ramble-y posts I write on the rare occasions that it rains here.
They usually include a poem.
And pictures.
And A SHORT BOOK HAUL.
So, convinced now that this is a great type o’ post? Good. LET’S GOOOOO.


Mum took this a while ago. Thanks!!!!! It’s come useful. (and yes, I know, I haven’t asked permission to use this. Heh.)

AHHHHHH a Grace Vanderwaal song is playing. THANK YOU SHUFFLE MODE. I’ve been obsessed with her songs. 🎶But you’re the GOSSSSSSSSSSSSIP GIRL🎶
*clears throat* Isn’t my singing just ✨beautiful.✨
Which reminds me. I’m going to post a ukulele cover or two soon! oh, and maybe a guitar one. That’s right, I’m learning guitar too, people! Get ready for more awesome-ness from your dear rat.
Alright, alright, that’s enough. Let’s get some book photos in hereeee.

I’M SO EXCITED FOR SHADOW AND BONE. Because, well, I just finished Six of Crows.
And yes, I have heard it’s terrible. But will I be reading it anyway? Yes. 100%. 😌 If it isn’t good, oh well. At least I’ll be able to rant about a book. I love book rants, both reading them and writing them. 😆
(not me “subtly” hinting that ya’ll should write more books rants)
A Tale of Sorcery is book three of a series; and let me tell you: I was SO surprised to see it just sitting there at the bookshop. I mean – I had sorta forgotten a third book was even going to come out. So, happy surprises. 🙃
annnnnnnnd I’ve already started Daughter of the Deep. It’s a new Rick Riordan book, of course I have. It’s going great!!!

I’m really excited for these! I’ll be honest, I’ve already forgotten what they’re about. But I picked them up for a reason, soooo hopefully I’ll enjoy them.
Hopefully.
At least the covers are great! I’d like to draw the cover of That’s What Friends Do. Maybe sometime…

Here are a couple pics I took in my balcony just now! I love that you can see those tiny raindrops on that dried leaf. 🙃 I really should take more photos with my camera. Would anyone like a photography postttt? 👀

*claps hands* okay, time for what you’ve all clicked for. THE POEM! Once, long ago, Sep asked me to write a poem on bookshops. And so I started, but never finished. Tragic. 😔
But.
Today is the day I finish it, people.
Finally.

That Magical Place

It’s been just over a week
Yet I’m longing to go back
New books, new stories I’ll seek
Even though there’s no lack
At home.

I lightly brush my fingers across the spines
Reading the bits out loud
From so many books, so fine
How do I choose
From so many stories, with so little time?


I could spend hours there
Choosing carefully
But I’ve spotted all I want at last
So, bittersweet, I leave.

But of course, I’ll be back.

~Rayna, 2021

….can we go to the bookshop now?
Heh. It’s okay. We went twice last week.
Or was it this week? No school = losing track of time. Actually, COVID = losing track of time. Oh and, school reminds me, my school’s opening. Five days a week. Offline. So.. I may not post that much. But I want to. So I guess I’ll manage. Mayhaps waking up at 5 am to write posts will work? 🙃 I’m serious though. I wish I could do that. 5 am is just a very productive time. ☀
Maybe one of you can wake me up? please? No? oh well.



ahh, I love my rainy day posts. Hopefully you do too. But if you don’t, that’s okay.
I’ll be doing them anyway. (;
Farewell everyone! I’ll be back soon. Don’t die. 💙👋



45 thoughts on “a rainy day, so here’s another rainy day post.

  1. Love your poem! 😍 Both that and your haul make me want to go to a bookshop, it’s been too long since I last went to one ✨📚. This post was a relaxing read and I enjoyed the whole rainy day vibe! 💗

    Liked by 2 people

    1. 1. YASSSS. Or should we say, ‘pretRAY.’ hEh.
      2. We just love ignoring those ✨crappy reviews.✨
      3. “”””””we”””””””
      (I’m definitely doing one sometime. Just maybe kick me around a little.)
      4. I knowww right? 😌

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rainyyy days YESSSSS
    Honestly I LOVED Shadow and Bone and I’m so happy you’re reading it! Do let me know what you think of it.
    I wanna go to a bookshoppppppp…but I’ve already bought like, six books this month. And I have a surplus of books already sooooooo…

    Hey, I’ll wake you up at five! That’s only…*mentally calculates* 8:30? idk. time zonez….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YESSSSSS. 😌
      I know you did! I hope I enjoy it- if I don’t, I’ll write a review. And if I do, I’ll be screaming to you about it all day. 🙃 Oof. Please go as soon as it’s November. 🙂

      …thanks diamond. I’m sure you’ll be very helpful. 🙂🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I went SPECIFICALLY to your site to see this post. Lots of effort you know. Those books are gorgeous. Aaaaaaahhhhhh. Me want books. Me hungry for books.
    The dried leaf picture is so cool.
    HEY BOOKSHOP POEM. NICE. I LIKE IT. I like how it all wraps up at the end, like a reverse loop. Damn I forgot the word. You know, those yt shorts? When it seems like the thing started and ended from the same thing? Am I rambling? Yes.

    I dunno. The poem was very smooth. Good job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *applause* good job sep! so much effort! well done! someone, get her an oscar!!

      YUS GO GET SOME BOOKS! Shoo, shoo.

      Ikr, it is.

      YES OF COURSE. AY thanks!!!!!!!!!!! I love it when my poems are called smooth- this is totally not the first time.
      Aye it’s fine what better comment on a rambling post than one filled with rambles?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. BECAUSE BOOKS ARE THE BEST. 😌😌 ahh don’t be, I’ll buy some for you next time. 🙂
      Anyway*
      Thank you! I dunno what you mean by tempting though.. are you planning to eat them? Like I eat roasted emojis?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE GRACE VANDERWAAL SONGS AAAHHH. And omg omgg I want to read a tale of sorcery so bad but it’s not available in bookstores here yet ☹️Also your poem is lovely ✨✨this was a such a fun post to read I really enjoyed it !!😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aHHHH a fellow Grace Vanderwaal fan!!!!! 🤩👏 OOF I feel you~ books usually come to bookshops here very late. (or maybe it’s not really that late and we’re just hungry bookworms haha~). 😔
      thank youuuu!!! Welcome to the blog! *bows*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rainy day posts are great and always fun! I’ll definitely be looking into these books and adding some of them to my loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong TBR list. 📚📚📚📚 Also, love the poem!! Good luck in school. Looking forward to your next post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.