All posts · Book-related · Tags

mid-year book freak-out tag 2022

y’all wordpress is being so annoying — I published this post yesterday but it bACK-PUBLISHED. OOF. Now I have to copy-paste everything here. Appreciate me.

helloooo people, elves, demigods, witches, wizards, crows, and all! Hope you’re doin’ well. 🌻🌻 (don’t two sunflowers look better than one~)
who am I?? I’m writing my second post today (though I’ll schedule this for later).
Anyway, I just saw this post by Suhani in which she does the Mid-Year Book Freak-out Tag a couple days ago, and realised I should do this tag again. I did it last year (you can read that post here), and welp, time for another I suppose.
Oh, and before we start, I’ve read 41 books so far, out of my goal of 100.
now, let’s gooo-

Best Book(s) You’ve Read So Far in 2022
I have no idea how past me was able to choose, but this is going to be hARD. ( ͡ಠ ʖ̯ ͡ಠ) (pretty sure that goes for all the prompts oof)

okay the fact that all three of these are Alice Oseman books-
This was inCREDIBLY HARD though. There are so many good books that I read; how am I supposed to pick a few?!?!
But there we go. Three of my top reads there. And all of them by the same author-

Best Sequel(s) You’ve Read So Far in 2022
Have I even read any sequels??
Okay, just found out that I have. Did I really enjoy any of them that much though-


I’ve only read about three sequels so far.. and two of them weren’t that good.

So I’m going with Amina’s Song for this one. I mean, it was pretty good. Not as good as the first book, but still.

New Release(s) You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To
I don’t really keep up with new book releases, only occasionally when it’s by an author I love. ಥ_ಥ


Most Anticipated Release(s) for the Second Half of the Year
AHH THIS ONE IS SUPER EASY. *eh-hem*

Of course, I have to go with the ninth KOTLC book, Stellarlune.
I was going to choose it last year.. but sADLY, it was postponed to this year.
Such a tragedy, y’all.
But anyway. Only five months left now!!!
Also isn’t that cover so pretty akskslds~

Biggest Disappointment(s) of 2022

I thought the art style and everything of The Plain Janes would be so great and all- turns out it’s nothing special. Sad. And as for Loser, my expectations weren’t very high, but it just turned out to be very boring so.
Also, I loved all the other books by David Baddiel I’d read previously- so I dunno if I’ve just grown out of his books or this one was just not as good.

New Favourite Author(s) (Debut or New to You)
I think I read a lot of books by various authors I’d never heard about before– I’d go with Alice Oseman but I started reading her books last year so can’t do that.
Hmm. Maybe Rainbow Rowell? I’ve only read Fangirl by her, but I think I’d like other books by her. Or Becky Albertalli?? Loved Love, Simon by her. Or or or, Holly Jackson??? Again, only read one book by her, but still.
The amount of confusion in that paragraph hurts my soul.

Book(s) That Made You Cry
Literally none of them?! what.
Conclusion: read more tear-jerking books, Ray.


Book(s) That Made You Happy
ahh well, most books I read (most things relating to books too-) make me happy~ even if I’m reading about a murder, or devastating stUff.

Prettiest book(s) you bought in 2022
ooh this is probably my favourite prompt~

I’m just gonna go with Heartstopper because lOOK AT THAT COVER?? And also- it’s a graphic novel so. tHE ART INSIDE!?! 💙
*cough*

also, I know it’s a very simple one, but I quite like the cover of Fangirl.

Huh, I guess that was all the prompts! Thanks for reading, folks~ and feel free to do this tag if you want!! ‘Tis pretty fun.
Alas, like usual, I have no idea what else to write in my intro, so I abruptly say-
g’bye.
Have a great dayyy.

23 thoughts on “mid-year book freak-out tag 2022

  1. i haven’t got the heartstopper books yet but i’m watching the series (it’s really good!)
    i’m reading fangirl right now, it’s great!
    *aghhhhhhh* BOOKS BY HOLLY JACKSON ARE AMAZINGGGGG PLEASE READ THE A GOOD GIRLS GUIDE TO MURDER TRILOGY AGHHHHHH ITS CRAZY GOOD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AHH THE SHOW IS GREAT!! You definitely should read the books sometime too, though!!! They’re even better, somehow.
      ahh yes love that!!
      I HAVE READ IT!! I just got around to book three recently!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ahh well, most books I read (most things relating to books too-) make me happy~ even if I’m reading about a murder, or devastating stUff.

    this. this is what describes me. I am the happiest reading murder mysteries. like as if, getting people killed inspires me to read more (psychopathic I am)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AHHH THE THIRD HEARTSTOPPER BOOK IS MY FAVOURITE BOOK AS WELL!!😭😭😭 #parisgangsupremacy
    AND EEEK RADIO SILENCE!!! IT REALLY IS THE BEST ALICE OSEMAN BOOK LIKE ALL THE CHARACTERS ARE PERFECTION!
    ahh I love fangirl by rainbow Rowell but I think Carry On by her is my favourite! but I hated Eleanor and Park sooo 😂😂
    LOVED THIS POST💖💖💖

    Liked by 2 people

    1. YESSSSS!!! 😌💙
      #Ilovethisfriendgroupsomuch
      IKRRR!!! I really want to reread it sometime.
      ooh, I’m planning on reading Carry On soon (I bought the book ages ago and still haven’t gotten round to it 😭😭)!!
      THANK YOU!!!!

      Like

    1. Oh, well, I really don’t read the same amount everyday? It depends on how busy I am and my ✨mOoD.✨ But I suppose I finish one book every few days~

      Like

    1. YES YES YES HOW CAN SOMEONE NOT LOVE ALICE OSEMAN!!! 😌 AND THANK YOU!! (I swear this is the fiftieth time i’ve told you this today 😂🥺)

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.