All posts · Book-related · reviews

spoiler-free shadow & bone book review ~ is it really that bad? â˜ 

Hallo, hallo, people, elves, demigods, witches, wizards, crows, and all! Hope you’re doin’ well. 🍂
I’m listening to the ten minute version of All Too Well right now, while typing up this post from my notebook [YES!! I’m finally writing some posts in a notebook. I feel ✹p r o d u c t i v e.✹ Especially since I can use write posts even in the car now]. So, of course, I’m great. 😌

so. Shadow and Bone. You’ve probably heard the name. it’s quite popular. Very popular indeed. and so. many. people. hate. this. trilogy. 👀
Me? I hadn’t given a second thought to reading it. But then I read another book by the same author, Six of Crows, which if somehow you don’t know about it, is another very popular series by the same author (Leigh Bardugo). And because SoC was amazing, I wondered why people think S&B is so bad. So there you go. that’s why I decided to read it. You probably weren’t interested in my reason, but oh well. :<

Oh, and this is a review for the first book. I’m only halfway through the second book, so maybe I’ll review that whenever I’m done. 🙃

Princess Sofia Regular

For a lot of people (dare I say most?), characters are what make a story. Or, y’know, break one. They’re like, the main part, and we enjoy great characters the most out of all the elements a story has. 😌
The characters in S&B? They’re okay. Not the best, but they aren’t bad. ^_^
But I don’t like the protagonist, Alina, all that much. She’s a bit… I don’t know what word to use. Whiny wouldn’t be what I’m trying to say — but that’s the first word that popped into my head, for some reason. o_O Anyway, I don’t know how to explain it, but she’s definitely not my favourite. Which, considering she’s the main character, is sad. /:


But Mal seems alright! I mean, he was barely there, but I think he’s cool? however, like I mentioned earlier, I’ve started the second book (Seige and Storm), and his whole personality seems to have taken a huge 180? Like, where’d that goofiness go from book one? ?_?
I dunno what to think of Mal, honestly.


okay….. 0_0
Can we take a moment to appreciate how great that Darkling thing was? I mean, I kind of expected *that*, but I actually starting liking him, before, t h i n g s happened. 😭✌#keepingreviewsspoilerfreeishard
Y’know, I even shipped Darklina. *sharp laughter* but didn’t we all? :^)


Oh, and Genya’s alright. I think I may like her more than Alina? oof.
So, I think I mentioned everyone worth talking about? the side characters aren’t really memorable. Or maybe it’s just my terrible memory. I dunno, honestly. Is there anyone absolutely amazing I’m forgetting, guys? (don’t say Nikolai, he’s not in the first book.)

Princess Sofia Regular

I don’t personally care about the plot much~ so if that’s what you like the most, and wanted to read about, welp, sorry for the disappointment, but I’m not going to be writing much about that. 😔
The most I can offer you is: the plot’s alright, I s’pose?
my reviews are just so informative, na? Sorry. I seriously can’t think of anything!

Princess Sofia Regular

I really liked Leigh’s writing style in SoC (even though it was a tad hard to get into), and it’s definitely better than how she was writing in S&B, but I still like this. There’s a fair bit of humour, which isn’t quite as rich as SoC’s, but I still enjoyed those parts just fine. ✌
Hmm. Perhaps it’s unfair to compare SoC and S&B, especially as much as I’m doing in this post. But is it that bad if they’re by the same author? 🧐 I dunno, mayhaps it is.
Anyway. You can let me know what you think about that^ in the comments. If you bother to leave a comment. đŸ„€
Oh also, for some reason I was expecting S&B to have a dual POV? Turns out there isn’t. 🐀 I didn’t mind when I found out it doesn’t, though.
So I s’pose that’s all for the writing style section.

Princess Sofia Regular

Okay, seriously, S&B isn’t terrible, guys. As a whole, Shadow and Bone (well, the first book anyway) is decent. Not great, not awful. Definitely not top-tier level like SoC, but that was expected.
Would I recommend this to anyone?
Hmm. Probably not.
But would I tell someone not to read it? Nah. not that they need my opinion
So yeah, I don’t get all the hate. But maybe I will after reading the other books. wHo knows?

I hope you liked the review! It’s been quite a while since I last did one.
Maybe you noticed, mayhaps you had other things on your mind, but I was trying out a new review style here. Bold text, italic text, different section titles, and well, different sections. I’m not very sure about it. o_O But then, I’m not a very decisive person. Let me know how it is. đŸ„€
(this wilted rose emoji is so amazing~)

Anyway, before you move onto another post, and completely forget you were here, go check out my new design! on a whim, I decided I’d do blogmas, but not 25 days, or 12, just a week. I’m (unfortunately) not organized enough for more than that. 😔 But back on point, I’ll be doing a week of blogmas, and I also redesigned my blog (just a teeny bit) for christmas! so go check it out. 💙 (that last bit totally isn’t a threat. totally not.)

have a great day, everyone! I’ll see you in the next post (who knows when that’ll be now, my post schedule’s a mess)! 🍂👋

27 thoughts on “spoiler-free shadow & bone book review ~ is it really that bad? â˜ 

  1. This review was so entertaining (like especially the rat emoji in the writing style section?? What is that for??) Trueee, Mal undergoes a complete personality transformation from the first book to the second book. I actually liked him in the first one, but by the end of the second ~very annoying~ I agree with literally every single one of your opinions

    I LOVED THIS REVIEW SO MUCH, RAYNA! Also, your blog design looks so cool 😍

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hehe, I’m glad then. 😂 (hmm… I’m not entirely sure? 😂😳 Rat’s one of my many nicknames……. so I guess I sort of meant it as ‘oh look such a rat thing to do’?? Idk, is this too much about the rat emoji? Aight moving on~)
      Ooof, ikr?? Tragic. 😔

      THANK YOU!!!! I like this comment a ton. 😌

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this revieeeeew… I totally agree with you.
    I actually, uh, kind of read…
    well, I read SoC because my friend was WATCHING S&B, but I didn’t have Netflix, so I was like “OH THERE’S A BOOK?” (and I mean seriously, books are always better, sooo…), and so I was like “Oh let’s read it”, but there was a loooong wait list for S&B so I read SoC first and LOVED it, and then I was like “Let’s try S&B” (and yes you probably didn’t need to know that. But… sorry)
    But anyway, I totally agree that SoC was a lot better, but… S&B was ok…
    NIKOLAAAAI is amazing. But true, he’s not in the first book. Hmph.
    And the blog design is A M A Z I N G

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heh, thank you! 🙃
      (welp I’ve heard the S&B show is actually better~ but even so, reading beats all!) aaaHHh yes SoC is awesome!!
      Right, it is. 😆
      HE IS SO FAR. Yeah, he should be in there!
      thank youuuuuu!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love S&B! I feel like the series gets better as it goes on.
    (also blogmas yessssssssss! even if it’s just a week. honestly that’s probably better than 31 days straight…plus posts from two other blogs…oof)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yuss I know! Oo maybe.. I’m still not finished with the second book. I keep reading other books.. FINISH IT RAYYY.
      Gosh, you’ve seriously taken on too much!! Who does 31 days of blogmas? 😳

      Liked by 1 person

  4. your design is so cute!! i haven’t read this yet, but your review was hilarious😭😭 i’ve head a lot about darklina and their whole dynamic (if you know what i mean😳) but i haven’t thought about reading this yet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.